I Saw Them Yesterday

-Guest Post By Micah Michubu

“What is the connection between love, or should I say lust, and darkness?” Why is it that with growth in darkness even the most timid Naliaka will try her best to show that she loves me?

I think darkness kind of magnetizes Naliaka’s arms and light jealously demagnetizes them. Or, how else can you explain the fact that Naliaka will willingly hold my arm and even come close to me (which is a taboo), so long as we are walking along the ill-illuminated Njokerio – Sanatorium(Library) highway. Why does she keep reminding me that Wanjala, their B.S pastor, might be returning from Njokerio anytime I want to hug her during the day but stupidly surrender herself to me, when darkness covers us? It’s not because I laughed at the pastors faded black suit that he is ever on from Monday to Monday, is it?

Or perhaps things went south when I clicked the day she told me that she was attending prophet Owuor’s Nakuru meeting?

But no!! If Owour’s meeting was the problem then Naliaka couldn’t have kept her mouth shut. She could have brought it in one of her prayers. Naliaka is a lady who knows how to keep her stuff in order, and in prayers. She always blasts them out in her lunchtime prayers. In the process of being faithful to God. And thanks to her prayers, the whole of J.C.R now knows of my ‘evil’ intentions to sleep over at her place last night.

I suspect my clicking wasn’t the cause of my daytime starvation. Wanjala is!! And he surely is! If he wasn’t then the Naliaka I saw yesterday is a new breed. For, Naliaka – my Naliaka- doesn’t hold men’s arms during the day. Actually my Naliaka is never held during the day. She preserves that for the nightfall. The only time Aphrodite comes zooming her way. But yesterday things seem to have changed. I was on my way to the Sports pavilion when I noticed the latest developments in Naliaka.

I think I will consult Wanjala tomorrow to seek his advice on the spell he used to have Naliaka spread herself over his belly. Oh, sorry! Naliaka said “tunadiscuss topic fulani ya B.S ya hii wiki. Si utujoin ahki Mwenda.” Probably I did a mistake to walk away. I should have joined them. Apparently, I would have had a share of the new breed of Naliaka. But again I didn’t like the look on the pastor’s face. It wasn’t so cordial.

So I have decided I will also have my own bible study. Na nitaiweka hapo hapo tu. Karibu na student welfare.

 

 

Leave a comment